Regional Philanthropy and Sustainable Finance Centre

invest hong kong

Green, sustainable, ESG and impact investing in relation to such areas as education, housing and community development, agricultures and food is becoming increasingly popular for family offices1.

In Hong Kong, a comprehensive green finance ecosystem has been flourishing. Being one of the world’s largest green bond markets, there was US$10 billion arranged and issued in 2019 – but this did not happen overnight or by chance. The HKSAR government is supportive of the industry’s vision to further cement Hong Kong’s position as a green finance hub in the Asia-Pacific region. To support such initiative, the HKSAR government has launched the Pilot Bond Grant Scheme, the Green Bond Grant Scheme and the HK$100 billion Government Green Bond Programme to support green finance development in the city. These initiatives help meet the increasing demand for green and sustainable investments among family offices.

Hong Kong has a mature and extensive network for philanthropy activities. Hong Kong tops in Asia in terms of philanthropic asset as a percentage of GDP. Tax exemption is available for charitable institutions and trusts under section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance.

1 Some 25 percent of family offices are involved in impact investing.

Client Testimonial

We’ve raised money here because of a generous community and now we want to begin giving back to this community, where one of five children lives in poverty. It’s a natural choice to set up our global headquarters in Hong Kong.

Jenny Bowen
Founder and CEO, OneSky

慈善與可持續發展金融的區域中心

invest hong kong

與教育、房屋及社區發展、農業及食品等領域相關、並且符合綠色環保、可持續發展、ESG(環境、社會及管治)及影響力投資的業務,越來越受到家族辦公室的歡迎1

一個全面的綠色金融生態體系正在香港迅速發展。作為全球最大的綠色債券市場之一,香港於2019年安排及發行的綠色債券達100億美元,而這成就並非一朝一夕或偶然達到的, 而是有賴香港特區政府一直以來對業界的支持。政府致力鞏固香港作為亞太區綠色金融樞紐的地位,先後推出債券資助先導計劃綠色債券資助計劃以及達1,000億港元的政府綠色債券計劃,全力支持香港的綠色金融發展。這些舉措有助滿足家族辦公室對綠色及可持續發展金融日益增加的需求。

香港的慈善活動網絡成熟而龐大,慈善資產佔GDP的百分比冠絕亞洲。根據《稅務條例 》第88條,慈善機構及慈善信託可豁免繳稅。

1 約25%家族辦公室參與影響力投資。

客戶評語

因為香港一眾善心人士的慷慨,我們才得以在這裡籌集資金,而這裡亦是我們在亞太區推動各項倡議的理想基地。在香港設立地區總部是理所當然的選擇。

Jenny Bowen
Onesky
創辦人兼行政總裁