Unique Access to Mainland China Investment Opportunities

invest hong kong

Hong Kong has been a dominant gateway of capital for Mainland China. Hong Kong accounts for the largest inbound and outbound direct investment of Mainland China. In terms of portfolio investments, since the introduction of the Qualified Foreign Institutional investors scheme in 2002, Hong Kong has worked closely with Mainland China in developing new channels, including Shanghai‐HK Stock Connect, Shenzhen‐HK Stock Connect, Bond Connect and Mutual Recognition of Funds, to facilitate cross‐border investment flows. Such efforts have allowed Hong Kong to strengthen its position as a dominant gateway over the years.

With the increasing popularity of the RMB as a currency for cross‐boundary trade and investment, the deep RMB liquidity pool and broad RMB‐denominated product spectrum in Hong Kong makes it the world's biggest offshore RMB centre.

First mentioned in 2015, the development of the Greater Bay Area (GBA)1 creates an integrated financial and innovation zone around Hong Kong. Family offices seeking investment opportunities will benefit from looking into the GBA through establishing presence in Hong Kong; the number of unicorns in the GBA is growing, and the valuation of unicorns in GBA increased from RMB335 billion in 2017 to RMB614 billion in Q3 2019. Under the GBA, Hong Kong is also working with Mainland China to explore the establishment of the “Wealth Management Connect” scheme, which will allow two‐way access of a wider spectrum of wealth management products in both jurisdictions.

Sources:
https://www.bayarea.gov.hk/en/home/index.html
2 Constitutional and Mainland Affairs Bureau

Client Testimonial

The Greater Bay Area enjoys a comprehensive set of business-friendly policies and boosts the flow of people, goods and capital, which will facilitate our global expansion from our base in Hong Kong.”

Mike Poon
Chief Executive Officer, Aircraft Recycling International Limited

连接中国内地的独特门户,抓紧庞大机遇

invest hong kong

香港一直是中国内地资金的主要门户,也是内地直接投资进出规模最大的城市。在证券投资方面,自2002年推出合格境外机构投资者计划后,香港与中国内地紧密开拓合作渠道,先后推出沪港通、深港通、债券通及基金互认安排等措施,以促进跨境投资的流动性,进一步巩固香港多年来的重要门户地位。

人民币成为日益普及的跨境贸易及投资货币,凭借拥有庞大的人民币流动资金池及多元化的人民币计价产品种类,香港已成为全球最大的人民币离岸交易中心。

大湾区发展计划1于2015年首次推出,旨在于香港周边建设一个综合金融和创新区。家族办公室可受惠于在香港建立业务而获得的大湾区投资机遇。大湾区的“独角兽”企业数量不断增加,这些企业的估值从2017年的3,350亿元人民币增加到2019年第三季的6,140亿元人民币。通过大湾区合作,香港也正与中国内地探索建立“理财通”机制,透过跨境互通,为两地居民提供更多理财产品的选择。

来源:
1  https://www.bayarea.gov.hk/en/home/index.html
2 政制及内地事务局

客户评语

大湾区拥有一个全面良好的营商环境,加上互联互通的人流、物流及资金流优势,有利于我们进一步透过香港这个窗口把业务扩展至全球范围。

潘浩文
国际飞机再循环有限公司
首席执行官